the pursuit of cute

These are a few of my favorite things…

Crocodile Creek – making mealtime a happy time May 23, 2009

Filed under: baby stuff,kid stuff — dinadingo @ 3:51 am
Tags: , ,

6c42145b0c7b0c9f46a8579d0d0cf313Mealtime in my house is pretty messy… the food AND the mood.

With two under two, there’s always someone who isn’t getting served as fast as he would like!  

I initially bought these placemats because they were so cute – bright colors, fun cartoony illustrations of animals, trucks and flowers. But when I got them home I realized I’d hit the jackpot. 

Each placemat is actually a tool to help kids learn their numbers, letters, animal noises and even geography.  For example, the map of the USA shows each state with a little picture of what that particular state is known for. Around the edges there are questions for kids to ask like “Where was I born?”, “Where is the desert?” or “Where do my grandparents live?” What a great way to distract interact with your child!

croc usa

And it works. These days, I get a few breaks in between dodging flying banana slices to ask Jack where mommy and daddy are from. Last night he pointed to the state of Michigan and said “CAH.” (translation = car) GENIUS!

Then he beaned me in the head with his brothers bottle. Nice.

 

Leave a Reply

