the pursuit of cute

These are a few of my favorite things…

Confessions of a cheapskate mommy March 7, 2009

Filed under: baby stuff — dinadingo @ 4:45 am
Tags: , ,

Sometimes, I can be cheap. Like break-out-in-hives-if-something-is-over-$100 cheap. I’m getting better but until now, spending around $15 a pop on lotions and soap for a newborn was just crazy talk. I mean, at the end of the day it’s all the same stuff right? Just different packaging….

mustela1

Cut to my newborn son, Sammy, with horrible cradle cap. I went to Target and bought whatever brand of newborn shampoo that was on sale. It got worse….much worse. At one point he looked like one of the models in a Head & Shoulders commercial!!

After a couple of weeks of watching him suffer (BAD MOMMY!) I finally sucked it up and bought Mustela’s Stelaker treatment made especially for babies with cradle cap . What an amazing difference! Within a few days, his cradle cap was gone and his skin skin is soft as – well – a baby.

I’m not going to lie and say I love spending this much on shampoo BUT what can I say? They made a believer out of me. I guess sometimes it pays to pay, especially when it comes to your kids.

Now my big problem is Mustela products are only available at high end pharmacies or placeslike Nordstrom and Buy Buy Baby. If they only sold it at Target….

 

3 Responses to “Confessions of a cheapskate mommy”

  1. I SORTA thought I saw Mustela at Stamford Target last week… but I was rushing through while the newborn was in the car with Dad so I could be mistaken!
    Babies R Us also carries Mustela!

  2. dinadingo Says:

    WOW – that would be huge. I’m there like 5 times a week (we probably know each other) so I will check and report back. THANKS!

  3. Sabrina Says:

    I get Mustela at Babies R Us. The legend is true. (They’re actually getting much better about pulling in some higher-end brands…)


Leave a Reply

